Login |  Register |  help


Posted Tuesday, February 19, 2008 by COACH

Led by double winners Mike McVicker and Mike Panzarino the team battled Chaminade through numerous lead changes during the meet. McVicker set three schools records: 1 in the 200IM set in 1995, another by resetting his own in the 100 Breaststroke and the third as part of the 200 medley relay with Kyle Chow, Joe Bucchiet and Aiden Kennon. In the diving portion of the meet, the team swept 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th with Phillip Troung breaking the school record, Nick Turner, and John Gallagher all making states and Miguel Hummel taking 4th. Matt Krey was awarded the Jack Kennedy career award after a great swimming career at Fordham Prep. Nick Turner was awarded the Fran Schnaar diving career award. Other outstanding performances were put in by Brian Lyons, Peter Cahill, Greg Accarino, John Accarino, Andrew Ellman, Sean Powers, Joe Casino, Connor Downey, Chris Luboja, Jesus Jaile and William Strobel. The team will compete at the New York State Championships with 13 qualifiers next month at Eisenhower Park. It’s the first back to back Championship since 1995 and the first time winning both the dual meet season and championships in the same season since 1992. Congratulations to the team on truly one of the greatest seasons in the history of swimming and diving team.

Coach Dominick Galimi was named COACH OF THE YEAR for the 2nd year in a row!!!

Matt Krey- 100 Free, 100 Back, 200 Free Relay, 400 Free Relay
Chris Luboja- 100 Breast, 200 Free Relay
Kyle Chow- 100 Back, 200 Medley Relay
Greg Accarino- 200 Free Relay, 400 Free Relay
Joe Buchheit- 200 Medley Relay, 200 Free Realy
Nick Turner- Diving
Mike McVicker- 200 IM, 100 Breast, 200 Medley Relay
Mike Panzarino- 200 Free, 500 Free, 400 Free Relay
Brian Lyons- 500 Free, 400 Free Relay
Andrew Ellman- 200 IM
John Gallagher- Diving
Aiden Kennon- 200 Medley Relay
Phil Truong- Diving


Mike McVicker:
200 IM 1:57.16
100 Breast 58.77

Phil Truong:
6 Dive 285.10
11 Dive 500.55

200 Medley Relay:
Kyle Chow
Mike McVicker
Joe Buchheit
Aiden Kennon

This page was created in 0.1074 seconds on server 132